One morning in 2010, I couldn’t tie my own shoes. To be fair, I couldn’t have tied anyone’s shoes that day. I was going to be late for work. So there I was, in my early thirties needing help tying my shoes. Already? My hips wouldn’t bend, my hamstrings were just stiff rods, my feet a million miles away. Pain, stiffness, insomnia followed by inability to fully wake up. Depression- a muddy, awful blur, and that foot on my chest each morning.  Well, I could live with that. But, I couldn’t tie my shoes, and that was really going to be a problem. Not that the other symptoms were not. I had no energy. Exhausted, I was cancelling stand up shows and avoiding my friends. My memory wasn’t great and I was forgetting people’s names, those of people I knew well.

Back to my shoe problem. Not ready for Velcro I went to see my doctor.  I told her my symptoms, and she asked if I had my thyroid tested. I had not. What is a thyroid? It must be a pretty big deal if it can turn me into a sad marionette. My results came back from my TSH blood test and I was borderline “hypothyroid”. I had many of the symptoms, some severe, but they were also symptoms of many other conditions, and I feel very lucky that my doctor tested my thyroid. The potential to be misdiagnosed, especially with depression, is very high. She sent me home with a prescription.

I had no idea what any of this meant, but I felt like I had an answer.  I took the medication. Everything was going to be great! I gently patted myself on my back. And then, a few weeks later, my hair started to fall out. In clumps.

This blog is about what the past four years have been like as I navigate (with humour and compassion on most days) my 2013 diagnosis of Hashimoto’s Disease, the reason why my hands are so cold, and why I want to lay down on your couch. Oh, and if you have something sweet, I’d like that too.

 

 

Link

6 thoughts on “I Can’t Tie My Shoes.

  1. Morgan Brayton says:

    I’m so looking forward to reading about this. Well, let me rephrase that…I’m sorry you have this condition and cause to write this. But, you know, since we’re both here and everything, I’m looking forward to more.

  2. Dorothy Cram says:

    Boy, I’m sure looking forward to reading about your journey. I almost want to join your club. Keep on blogging!

Leave a Reply

